top of page

St. Helen School Advisory  Board

The St. Helen school board consists of members who have made a commitment to support St. Helen school’s administration through service. The school board is advisory and agrees to operate following the policies and procedures set forth in the Leadership Manual for School Advisory Boards published by the Office of Catholic Schools. The board is accountable to the principal and the pastor in its operation.


The School Advisory Board will consist of 8-12 members, serving terms of up to three consecutive years. Members are appointed by the Principal. Members are expected to attend quarterly meetings and have a leadership role in a Board committee. In addition to the role of Board Chair, committees include Finance, Fundraising, Marketing, Parish Council, Dad’s Club, BOSH, Community and Alumni. The board focuses on fundraising, strategic planning, and school advancement.


Members agree that they will use their talents, gifts and insights for the common good of the community, to further the vision for St. Helen School and to promote the mission and goals of Catholic education. They will defer their personal agendas in order to discern with other members the issues, concerns and challenges they face in meeting the educational needs of the students. Not only will they take seriously their role as advisors to the principal and pastor, but also, they will accept the conditions of membership on the school board, namely the Code of Ethics, which describes the parameters of their collaboration and responsibility.

Current Members Include:

  • Father Claudio Diaz

  • Maria Sepsis

  • Erin Gawlick

  • Maria Ippolito

  • Tim Liston

  • Arshia Akbari

  • Patrick Skertich 

  • Staci Slattery

  • Jordan Kerger 

Additional attendees include: Dr. Shirley Morris  (Interim Principal), Kathleen Johnson (Vice Principal) & Agnes Brandys(Financial Officer)

The Code of Ethics

The Code of Ethics for Advisory Board Members describes the expectations inherent in the purpose of the board. Members, by accepting the position to serve on the advisory board, ascribe to this code. Members agree that they are working together for the common goal - to promote the mission and purpose of Catholic education.

The code of ethics encompasses the following domains:

● Confidentiality

● Conflict of Interest

● Courtesy

● Dependability

● Justice and Fairness

● Maintenance of Unity

● Objectivity


Board meetings are typically held quarterly August, October, March, and June at 4:30pm at St. Helen School. Parents and parishioners are welcome to contact the school board directly with any questions or concerns they have.

Our Guidelines

Guidelines for all archdiocesan schools are developed by the archdiocesan school board and administered by the superintendent of schools. At the school level it is the responsibility of the principal and pastor to see that such guidelines are followed in the parish school. Decisions for our school, then, are made by the parents, the parish, school advisory board, the faculty, staff and principal, and the pastor, following guidelines set forth by the Office of Catholic Schools of the Archdiocese of Chicago.

Current recorded minutes and notes for school board meetings.

November 2021 Minutes

February 2021 Minutes

October 2020 Agenda

August 2021 Minutes

December 2020 Agenda

October 2020 Minutes

April 2021 Minutes

December 2020 Minutes

bottom of page